Denaby Utd – Prospects for the Season 1922/23

19 August 1922

Mexborough times, August 19, 1922

Prospects for the Season

Jim Hancock, the Denaby United secretary manager has assembled an impressive list of place for the coming season. Of the old brigade, the following are retained:

Goal: P Ekins
Backs: R Coope, F Hensman, P Calladine.
Halfbacks: G Hill, T Peters.
Forwards: J Godfrey, H Hamilton, A MacDonald, H Bentley, E Sheldrake and A Tinkler

The losses of the close season are made goodby a big harvest of recruits, which includes several men of established reputation in Midland league football.

Goal: A Ward, Mexborough Loco
Backs: M Taylor, Mexborough; W Baxter, Hathersage; H. Johnson, Rotherham Midland; T Haslam, Frickley Colliery
Halfbacks: P Reed, Doncaster Rovers; GL Robinson, Denaby Church; L Pearson, Malin Bridge Old Boys; W Cromlech, Goldthorpe Comrades; S Cowan , Bullcroft

Forwards: C O Bretnall, Worksop Town (Centre); Edgar Powell, Pembroke Dock (Outside Left) Outside Left; A Coldwell, Malin Bridge Old Boys (Centre); F Homer , Hathersage (Inside Right); G Kemp, Doncaster Rovers (Outside Right); T Peacock, Middleton (Inside Left); W G Harries, Pembroke Dock (Outside Left)

All these players have excellent records in various classes of football, and without looking any further for the moment, a fine match winning side could be selected.

The outstanding captures of Bretnall, Matt Taylor and the men from Doncaster Rovers and Pembroke Dock.

The president, Mr H. C. Harrison is well supported by a very earnest and hard-working committee, Mr Hancock secretary manager, Mr E Tibbles assistant secretary, Mr W Astbury financial secretary and R H. Shepard and W. Marshall as trainers.