Exchange Project an Educational Breakthrough

November 1969

South Yorkshire Times Saturday, November 29

Exchange Project an Educational Breakthrough

Conisbro’ Parents Told

Introducing the guest speaker, Dr. Royston Lambert, Principal of Dartington Hall School, Devon, headmaster of Conisbrough Northcliffe High School, Mr. A. G. G. Young, said at the Lower School speech day. “We are about to witness educational history in this hall tonight.”
“We are living in a period of history where more changes have taken place over the past decade than over 100 of years previously. In no field have these changes been felt more than in the field of education.”

Mr. Young went on to outline a revolutionary breakthrough in English education, the exchange project between two state schools. Conisbrough Northcliffe and Mexborough Grammar and the Dartington Hall independent school, now in its early stages, known as the Dartington Hall exchange project.

Suitable Annexe — To Extend

He said that he had for year been looking for a suitable an Annexe to extend his 900 pupil school but due to lack of suitable premises, and more latterly the Government’s economic prices and incomes squeeze he had always been thwarted in his efforts. Despite winning the sympathies of Sir Alec Clegg, the County authorities were unable to provide the additional facilities that he required.

Mr. Young described his efforts as “a puzzle,” It was a colleague who put forward the name of a man whom he thought could solve the problem.” That man said Mr. Young “was Dr. Royston Lambert.

“I had for a long time followed and admired the work of social historian Royston Lambert, a Fellow of King’s College. Cambridge, who from Cambridge was making pioneer studies on educational integration.

“He was a member of a team who were investigating education outlooks on a Government Commission. However when the findings were made public Dr. Lambert publically made a stand renouncing what he claimed were misinterpretations of the findings.”

Mr. Young said that he followed Dr Lambert’s movements up to his appointment as Principal of Dartington Hall. There he contacted him and outlined his plans for a project of integration between the two schools of vastly differing background which would offer extra facilities to all the schools involved.

“Dr, Lambert seemed as enthusiastic about the scheme as I was: Mr. Young observed. From then on things moved swiftly. The Dartington Trust bought the Terrace, a large house near Conisbrough Castle, from the N.C.B. for £13,000 and began improvements on a scale that doubled the cost.

Mexborough Grammar School joined the scheme, adding a sixth form exchange dimension to the propect. Already a number of pupils from Conisbrough have spent days in Devon on courses at Dartington. The Devon school are to arrange exchanges as soon as “The Terrace.” is completed.


Dr. Lambert described the aims and advantages of the unique scheme. He described the differences in environment                between the two areas contrasting rural Devon with urban industrial South Yorkshire. “The scheme will be benefit to every pupil involved Devon and Yorkshire are 300 plus miles apart. This is a great distance, they are unlike each other

emphasised that the exchange project would be available to all pupils despite their ability.

“I firmly believe that education is the right of every child. I would not associate with any school that did not share my beliefs education for all children and even emphasised the 11-plus. I failed the 11-plus and I’m proud of it.”

Dr. Lambert continued: “The project will bring the three schools together as a family.” He added that the schools would be inter-mingled and integrated more and more with each other to help make the varying forms of education available to the individual pupil,

He concluded: “Education sets out to prepare young people for the various ways of life and  we hope that the Dartington Hall project will open up these various forms a bit more.”

Dr. Lambert afterwards presented, the prizes and certificates.

Chairman’s prize for the best scholar. Susan Groot.
Headmaster’s prize for best triers, Pamela Leonard and Gary Griffiths.
Head’s prize for most willing helper. Peter Denman.
Vesta Colgan’s prize for the outstanding prefect, Christine Bell.
Parkgate prize for outstanding Prefect, Glyn Rawle.

Upper School

Castle W.M.C. prizes for Rural Science: Peter Stothard, Anthony Simpson.
Dickinson prizes for geography: Christine Barker. Janet Swaby.
Stewart prizes for music: Barbara Fox. Margaret Hedley.
Leonard prizes for drama: Derek Taylor. Neil Baxendale.
Brocklesby and Wright prize for history: Malcolm Cook.
Urch prizes for handicraft, woodwork. Paul Rees; metalwork. Joseph Milnes.
Prize for housecraft: Susan Tuffrey.
Senior mistress’s prize for attendance: Ann Durant
Deputy Head’s prize for attendance: Peter Etherington
Prizes for biology: Maureen Allen. Sandra. Griffith prize for camping: Jane West,
Chattel’ prizes for mathematics: John Woodruff, Barbara Cooper.
Short prizes for English: Elizabeth Rotherham, Melvyn Holmes.
Dr. O’Hea prizes for English: Janet Swaby. Ivy Dawson.
Bennett prize for D of E.’s expedition: David Bowen.
Burdett prize for art: Linda Beardsley.
Barwell-Turner prize for art: Kevin Pratt
Ivanhoe Club Prizes for science: Joseph Milnes, Michael Houlbrook
Smethurst prize for needlecraft:
Christine Barnsby W4
Dr. Bell’s prizes for physical education : Pearl Washer N4. Carol Cooke L3 Paul Sissons N4. Clive Cox F3,
Vesta Colgan’s prize for community service: Ann Ackerill W4.
Canon Braithwaite’s prizes for humanities Michael Riley M4, Yvonne Joyce W4

Lower School

Head of Lower School’s prize for best scholar: Jayne Fowler B2,
Limer prize for art: Jeffrey Oakley N1
Tyas prizes for mathematics: Neil Holt F2, Lorraine Hagan F2
N.C.B. prizes for science: Margaret Holt C1, Robert Kitching B2
N.C.B. prizes for handicraft: woodwork, Richard West £2; Metalwork, Ian Brammer L1.
Co-operative Society’s prize for needlework: Susan Firth L2.
Nicholson prize for housecraft: Julie Bache W1.
Prizes for physical education: Garry Pears F2, Michelle Harris S2.
Warren prizes for humanities: Julie Boldan W2. Ann Beasley W2.
Brocklesby and Wright prize for humanities: Ian Brandreth S2.
Greathead prize for humanities: William Hudspeth M2.
Steels prizes for humanities: Lynda Wood M2, Michael Whitehead F2.

The head boy, Gary Griffiths and head girl, Christine Barber offered a vote of thanks to Dr. Lambert. Mr. Bernard Short. the  Chairman of the Governors, made the introductory remarks.

Dr. Royston Lambert addressed the Senior School speech day on Wednesday