Cast For “No No Nanette” – Denaby Group’s First Musical Comedy

May 1956

South Yorkshire Times May 26, 1956

Cast For “No No Nanette”
Denaby Group’s First Musical Comedy

Denaby and District Operatic Society this week announced the cast for the production of “No, No Nanette,” to be given in the latter part of October. The players will be Muriel Brookes (as Nanette), Doris Clarke (Lucille), Emily Hepworth (Sue Smith), Gladys Turner, (Betty), Yvonne Owen (Winnie), Ethel Richardson (Pauline), Alan Brookes (Jimmy Smith), Fred Walker (Tom Trainor), Mabel Greenwood (Mrs Webster Wylie), and Florence Gregory (Mrs Towney Morgan).

The producer will be Mr Frank Cooper (Rotherham), who also produces for Dearne operatic Society and Dinnington Operatic Society. He is a very well-known locally and hopes to stage a first-class show. Mrs. Lynette Chapple is musical director and Mr Eric Smith, of Conisbrough, dancing master.

Mrs Chappell told the “South Yorkshire Times’ this week that “No, No Nanette” will be the societies first musical comedy, and will follow the societies pantomime. She adds; “We could do with many more men and young ladies who are interested in singing, acting and dancing.”