Conisbrough Evening League Champions in 38 minutes

2 September 1950

South Yorkshire Times September 2, 1950

Conisbrough Evening League Champions in 38 minutes

Conisbrough raced to the championship of the Mexborough Evening League in 30 minutes at Mexborough last night (Thursday) scoring 94 without loss to Swinton’s 92 for 9.

Top scorer for Conisbrough was P Taylor, who had a brilliant innings of 75 not out. It took him only 21 minutes to reach his 50 and his score included nine fours and two sixes. His partner, W. Hepworth, scored a steady 22 not out.

Hepworth and Taylor set about the bowling from the first delivery and scored 14 off the first over.

Top scorer for Swinton was skipper be Meggitt, who had a bright innings of 30, while B Hodgkinson also did well for 28. For Conisbrough H Hirst took five for 40 and a Chadwick two for 32.

The winners’ trophy was presented by the donor, Mr H May, a vice president of the League, and the runners-up cut by Mr S.H.E. Crane, president of the league