Denaby & Cadeby – Denaby 94 Shiregreen 97 for 5 – Beaten after three Victories

May 1957

South Yorkshire Times: Saturday, May 25, 1957

Denaby Beaten By Shiregreen
After Three Victories

Denaby & Cadeby 94          Shiregreen 97 for 5

Denaby and Cadeby, who won the first three Yorkshire Council games this season, lost by five wickets to Shiregreen at Denaby on Saturday, Denaby reached only 94, and only three batsmen reached double figures, highest scorer was opening batsmen, A. Ellis, who hit 20, before he was caught by Thompson off the bowling by Swann.

First shock for Denaby came early in the match when Ellis’s opening partner. A. Davies – winner of the Doncaster league averages last year – fell to the bowling of McGrail with only one run against his name and third man in, T. Walker, managed to increase the total by only five before his stumps were shattered by Swann. Only 45 runs came in 68 minutes batting, and R. Cory, who had joined Ellis, was next to go, caught by Swann.

Peter Downing scored a useful 19 before he flicked the ball into Thompson’s hands. And Atter went on to take the wickets of A. Hirst (for eight) and E. Waddington (for nine).

Jones batted consistently to score 11 in well-placed singles and twos.

Swann took four for 28, A. Atter three for 20, McGrail two for 29, and S. Atter one for 13.

Shiregreen took almost 2 hours to reach 97 for 5, and for most of the time the batting was slow and lifeless.

Of 21 overs bowled by the Denaby Bowlers, 11 were maidens, and 42 overs cost only 88 runs,

Opening batsman, J. Thomson, was still at the wicket at the end of the game.

George Stones bowled 22 overs, 11 of which were maidens and had two for 28, Downing took two for 21 in 11 overs and Broadhead one for 19. Harry Newton’s seven overs conceded 18 runs.