Denaby Utd – Admitted to The Yorkshire League

July 1965

South Yorkshire Times 3rd July 1965

Denaby United Admitted to The Yorkshire League

Brodsworth Main Miners’ Welfare were the hosts for the 40th annual meeting of the Yorkshire League, held in the Broad Highway Hotel, Broadlands, Doncaster, on Saturday.

Mr. Mitchell, secretary of the Miners’ Welfare at Brodsworth, welcomed delegates from clubs. The only club not represented was Kiveton Park F.C., and there were apologies from retiring clubs, Saltaire, Swillington and Brodsworth.

Two clubs applying for admission to the League were Denaby United and Leeds Ashley Road.


Mr. E. Langford, speaking on behalf of Denaby United, expressed his disappointment at the Midland League decision to expel them from the League after being members for 63 years. He thanked the Yorkshire League for considering his club.

Both Denaby and the Leeds club were unanimously elected to the league and will compete in Division II in the coming season.

The composition of the League will be 16 teams in Division I and 14 in Division II. As Swillington M.W. have resigned from the League, Selby Town F.C. will continue to play in Division I.

It was decided that referees’ fees should be increased from £1 10s to £2 and linesmen’s fees from 15/- to £1.


The posts of President, secretary, treasurer and auditor were unopposed and Messrs Jackson, Russell, Hill and Jackson respectively were re-elected. Vice Presidents elected were Messrs Langton, Pichorn, Temple and Wilson. Other officials chosen were: Management Committee:- Messrs Sykes, Dixon and Stokes; Appeals Committee:- Messrs F. Burrett (West Riding F.A.), Purcell (North Riding F.A.) and E. Kangley (Sheffield and Hallamshire F.A.).

Following the meeting tea was served by the hosts and later in the evening the League’s annual dinner and dance was held in the Broad Highway Hotel.