Forty-Two More Miners Summoned.

August 1902

Mexborough & Swinton Times – Friday 22 August 1902

The Strike at Denaby and Cadeby Main Collieries.

Forty-Two More Miners Summoned.

Another batch of miners, numbering forty-two, were brought up at the Doncaster West Riding Police Court on Saturday, before Mr. 0. B. C. Yarborough, presiding, with Mr. L T. Baines, Mr. B. L Whitaker, Mr. J. C. Coalman, and Mr. W. H. Battie-Wrightson at the instance of the Denaby Main Colliery Company, under the Employers’ and Workmen’s Act and they claimed £6 from each of the defendants as damages for breach of contract.

The names of the defendants me as follows:—

From Mexborough:

Richd. Wimpenny, Benj. Perks, Patrick Cane, David Sheldon, Jas. Heath, Alfred Taylor, John Threadgold, C. Fallow, David Poynton. Jas. Cox. W. Woodward, Wm. Parton, Wm. Lowe, Joseph Dennis

From Denaby:

Tom Parr, Geo. Thompson, W. James, James Briscoe, Thomas Rattigan, John Donlan, Wm- Thacker, Jacob Baker, James Beal. James Hague, Isaac Derricott, Jas. Brown, Fred Oliver. Thom. Jones, Tom Ashford, Wm. Small, Wm. Stokes, John Hall, E. Kirkham, Arthur Cockayne, William Cooper, D. Barnfield, John Jarvis, W. Rawson, Patrick Doran, T. Greenhalgh, and Frank Benton.

George Ackroyd, Edlington;

Mr. W. M. Gichard, of Rotherham, appeared for the colliery company and Mr. J. H. Rowlands for the defendants.

The claims were admitted by the defendants, and orders for the amounts were made.