New Trophy   – Ivanhoe Cycling Club

11 February 1950

South Yorkshire Times February 11, 1950

New Trophy

Conisbrough Ivanhoe Cycling Club held their annual meeting under the Chairmanship of Mr. C. J. Pickett, M.C., O.B.E., president, The following officials were appointed for 1950: President, Mr. C. J. Pickett, C.C. 0.B.E.; Vice-President, Mesdames Harrop and Tillotson. Messrs. J. Parley, A. Laughton, J. Parker, A. Shikell; chairman, Mr. F. Oldfield; vice-chairman, Mr. A. Laughton; general secretary, Mr. R. Longley; treasurer, Mr. A. Laughton; racing secretary, Mr. H. Wake; social secretary, Miss D. Goddard; assistant social secretary, Miss B. Sanderson; captain, K. Firth; vice-captain, Miss J. Webdale committee Messrs. K. Firth, F. Minto, C. V. Cooke, P. L. Barlow, R. W. S. Web-dale, E. Smallwood, E. Price, B. Best, B. P. ‘gall, J. Robinson, M. Gregory and Miss J. Webdale.

The secretary reported that the club was financially sound and had now 78 members. Mr. A. Shikell was presenting the club with a five miles grass track trophy which was to be competed for at Conisbrough Agricultural Society’s annual sports meeting on July 29th. Time trial events were fixed for 10 miles 25 miles, 50 miles, 100 miles and 12 hours for the 1950 season. The club’s run on Sunday is to Howden with tee at Hatfield.

Future club events include-February 19th: Annual freewheel contest to be held on Crookhill Hillat 9 a.m.; dinner at Owston Ferry, tea at Mattersey. Feb. 26th: Dinner, York, tea, Selby. March 5th : Dinner: Matlock Bath, tea Peacock. March 12th: dinner, Knaresborough tea, Aberford.

All these club runs start at the Red Lion, Conisbrough, at 9 a.m.