Denaby & Cadeby – Denaby 107 Rawmarsh 59 – Championship Play Off

20 September 1901

Mexborough and Swinton Times, September 20.

Mexborough and District League.

Denaby the Champions. 

Denaby 107 Rawmarsh 59

Denaby Innings: L Robinson 44; G.W. Platts 6-38

Rawmarsh innings: L Robinson 6-23

The final and deciding match in the Mexborough and District Cricket League was played on Saturday on the Mexborough ground. The competing teams were Denaby and Cadeby United and Rawmarsh. Each 11 had concluded their ordinary League fixtures and had gained 22 points each.

The Denaby XI was at full strength, as, in addition to the usual “mainstays,” several men who played well in the early matches were included.

Rawmarsh and the assistance of George W. Platts, who has played with the Yorkshire County second XI this season.

The feature of the Denaby innings was the batting of Luther Robinson, who after being missed three times, was not got rid off until he had scored 44. The other batsmen stood up well to the fast bowling of Platts and some steady hitting was seen. Platts had six wickets for 38.

When Rawmarsh commenced it was soon seen that Luther Robinson was in capital form with the ball. The only men to make anything like a stand were J Allott (25) and H. Outram (17 not out). Only 59 runs were obtained altogether, so Denaby won the championship somewhat easily. Luther Robinson took six wickets for 23 runs.