Whitsun Procession

June 1935

Mexborough & Swinton Times June 7, 1935

Whitsun Procession

Gold, red, blue, grey, white, khaki, green, crimson, and brown. All these colours were seen in rich profusion in the drab streets of Denaby on Monday, when the village was transformed by the glorious pagentry of the annual Whitsun Procession of Denaby and Conisbrough Roman Catholics. About 1000 people, of whom fully 500 were children, took part, and as the procession, headed by the St Albans Scouts band and the cross bearers, moved off and assumed its full proportions of half a mile in length, a change in brilliance of the scene made a delightful picture.
The procession, which walked for more than a mile, proceeded along Church walk and Tickhill Street to Doncaster Road, and back to St. Albans Church by way of Loversall Street and Wadsworth Street. Every branch of the church was represented, from priests and sisters to the youngest scout. The principal figures were they child kings and queens.

Others in the procession were the schoolchildren, the younger girls being in white silk, the Children of Mary and the woman’s confraternity. Fathers J. Holoham and C. Lehane brought up the rear. The men of the parish under Messrs. John Dooney, senior, and Martin Fallon, acted as marshals.

The chief characters were: St.Albans (George Madin), the infant king and Queen (Austin Conlin and Joan Osborne), the Queen of Violets (Eileen Mcdermott), with Marlene Evans, Kathleen Sheriffe, Oliver and Majorie Scott (attendants); Queen of the Lilies (Winifred Carmody), with Joyce Ray, Lily Baines, Mildred Callaghan and Kathleen Connolly; Queen of Roses (Margaret Hardacre), with Joyce Nicole, Margaret Noughton, Teresa Flahery, and Annie Hardacre; Joan of Arc (Mary Kelly), with Ann Holleran (standardbearer), Delilah Rogers, Kathleen Bray, Margaret Egan, and Helen Kelly), with Veronica Hudson (harp bearer), Betty Trout (St Patrick’s banner), Winnie McGrath, Patricia Fallon, Lily Turton, and Veronica McElroy; and the May Queen (Sheila Conlin), with Delia Mullins (cushion bearer), Agnes Hill, Helen Handley, Molly O’Donnell and Nora Neary.

The statue of our Lady was carried by Mrs. M. Harrop, S. Faulkner, C. Kelly, Mary Rogers, M. Knight, K. Logan, R. Brady, and W. McDonnell. Our Lady’s Banner was carried by Mr. John Finn, and the streamers were Mrs M. Kennedy, N. Atkin, M. Quinn, A. Quinn, M. A. Finn and A.Bellis.

On the return to church the children, the children of Mary, and the child kings and queens attended Benecdiction, the service being conducted by fathers Holohan and Lehane. Afterwards the children were entertained to tea in the St Alban’s Church.