The Coal Strike – Conisborough Relief Committee

June 1921

Mexborough and Swinton Times, June 25th 1921

Conisbrough Relief Committee.

Some Remarkable Figures.

The Conisborough and Denaby Relief Committee claims to have done more, in the way of relief, than any other district with the comparable population in the country.

Its fund was formed at the end of the third week of the stoppage, and in the eight weeks has elapsed since then 275,000 meals have been given to children, at the rate of 4,600 a day. For the greater part of that time, one meal has been issued to each child every day, but now there are six distributions a week.

The children are given, variously, soup, bread, potted meat, butter, cocoa and jam. The central Depot is the Working Men’s Club at Denaby Main, and the Eagle and Child Inn, Conisbrough, is a sub centre.

There are also special depots, supervised at Conisborough, by Mrs Farrell and at Denaby by Mrs Oxley, for maternity cases.

At Denaby Main Hotel 1,200 children are fed, and other centres at which meals are given are the Wesleyan Chapel and the Methodist Chapel, Denaby; Eagle and child, Conisborough; the Wesleyan Chapel, Conisborough; and the Castle Inn, Conisborough.

There have been over 100 maternity cases dealt with since the Coal dispute commenced. Two loans of £500 each, have been received from the local miners fund, and 3 grants of £70 each from the “Daily Herald” fund.

The glass workers have given £50. The officials at Denaby and Cadeby have given very generously, and so have the tradespeople and private residents.

The other day. Mr Joseph Humble of Crookhill Hall, managing director of the Yorkshire Main Colliery, sent a pig; Mr A. Lee, farmer, of old Denaby, slaughtered a beast, and sent the meat. Local butchers have given very generously. So far there has been no lack either money or material, and the Relief Committee are sufficient in hand to continue the work on the present scale for another fortnight.

No adults, except, nursing mothers, are fed from the fund. The president of the Relief Committee is Mr Tom Hill, the chairman Mr W.I. Gibbs, the Treasurer Mr J. Shelton, and the secretary Mr G. Smith

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.